SIBYL

Performance Theatre

Première partie 1 : The Moment Has Gone
Deuxième partie : Waiting For The Sibyl

L'opéra de chambre de 42 minutes Waiting for the Sibyl et le film avec musique live de 22 minutes The Moment Has Gone constituent un programme singulier du travail de l'artiste sud-africain William Kentridge - une soirée inédite au théâtre de l'alchimie visuelle et sonore.

Waiting for the Sibyl, créé en collaboration avec le chef de chœur et danseur Nhlanhla Mahlangu et Kyle Shepherd, l'un des plus importants pianistes et compositeurs progressifs d'Afrique du Sud, est une pièce pour neuf interprètes qui se déroule sous la forme d'une série de 6 courtes scènes, interrompues et révélées par la chute et le lever du rideau de scène. L'œuvre intègre des éléments caractéristiques de la pratique visionnaire de Kentridge - projection, performance live, musique enregistrée, danse/mouvement et ombres projetées par les interprètes sur une toile de fond peinte à la main - afin de raconter l'histoire de la prophétesse cuméenne Sibylle. Elle écrivait le destin d'un individu sur une feuille de chêne et le plaçait à l'entrée de sa grotte sur un tas de destins d'autres personnes. Mais lorsque vous vous rendiez pour la récupérer, une légère brise soufflerait et ferait tourbillonner les feuilles, vous laissant dans l'incertitude quant à votre propre destin. Le fait que votre sort serait connu, mais que vous ne pourriez jamais le savoir, est le thème profond de notre relation de crainte, d'attente, de pressentiment vers l'avenir.

L'idée que notre sibylle contemporaine est l'algorithme qui prédira notre avenir, notre santé, si nous obtiendrons un prêt bancaire, si nous vivrons jusqu'à 80 ans, ce que sera notre génétique, reste inexprimée, imprègne cet opéra. Cette certitude d'un mécanisme implacable qui détermine notre sort se juxtapose au désir d'un lien plus humain avec notre destin, à l'instinct de croire en autre chose qu'une machine qui nous guide dans notre vision de l'avenir. L'œuvre est une méditation profonde, discordante, ludique et visuellement éblouissante sur ce que vivre dans l'ère actuel signifie, pour l'humanité, de s'atteler à nouveau à la tâche primordiale qui consiste à donner un sens à l'état intrinsèquement tragique de toujours savoir, sans jamais savoir, où notre fin nous mènera ; la conscience maudite et bénie qui nous rend humains. 

The Moment Has Gone démarre le programme : un nouveau film de 22 minutes avec musique live de Kyle Shepherd qui combine le piano et un chœur sud-africain entièrement masculin dirigé par Nhlanhla Mahlangu. Il intègre City Deep, le dernier film de la série de films Soho Eckstein de Kentridge, et des séquences de Kentridge en train de créer l'œuvre. Dans City Deep, la technique unique d'animation au fusain de l'artiste, qui consiste à effacer et redessiner tour à tour, évoque une histoire non linéaire avec son alter ego Soho Eckstein, qui se situe entre un musée d'art municipal (inspiré de la Johannesburg Art Gallery) et une zone minière abandonnée aux abords de la ville, où se pratique l'extraction artisanale illégale de l'or. L'action saute : le musée s'effondre, Soho se retrouve face à son destin, tandis qu'un mineur solitaire travaille sans relâche contre son destin. Des images de la création du film, de l'artiste dans son atelier - toujours une action (futile) contre le destin - sont intercalées.

UPCOMING DATES

Aucun résultat

PAST DATES

  • 2019-09-10 00:00:00 2019-09-15 00:00:00 - Teatro Dell'Opera Di Roma (Teatro Costanzi), Roma - Italy

CREDITS

Creative  Team

William Kentridge   Concept and Director

Kyle Shepherd Music Director / Composer

Nhlanhla Mahlangu Associate Director / Choral Composer

Greta Goirus Costume Designer

Sabine Theunissen Set Designer

Urs Schönebaum Lighting Design

Žana Marović Projection Design

Stella Olivier Photography

 

Waiting for the Sybil is co-commissioned by Teatro dell'Opera di Roma, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg and Dramaten - Stockholm.

SIBYL

Performance Theatre

Part 1 : The Moment Has Gone
Part 2 : Waiting For The Sibyl


The 42-minute chamber opera Waiting for the Sibyl and the 22-minute film with live score The Moment Has Gone comprise a singular program of South African artist William Kentridge’s work—an evening in the theater of visual and aural alchemy unlike anything else.

Waiting for the Sibyl, created in collaboration with choral director and dancer Nhlanhla Mahlangu and Kyle Shepherd, one of South Africa’s leading progressive pianists and composers, is a piece for nine performers that unfolds in a series of 6 short scenes, interrupted and revealed by the dropping and raising of the front curtain. The work incorporates signature elements of Kentridge’s visionary practice—projection, live performance, recorded music, dance / movement, and shadows cast by the performers against a hand-painted backdrop—to tell the story of the Cumaean prophetess Sibyl. She would write out a questioner’s fate on an oak leaf and place it at the mouth of her cave on a pile of others’ fates. But when you went to retrieve it, a breeze would blow up and swirl the leaves about, leaving you uncertain if you were learning another’s fate or your own. The fact that your fate would be known, but you couldn’t know it, is the deep theme of our relationship of dread, of expectation, of foreboding towards the future.

Unspoken throughout but hovering over the opera is the notion that our contemporary Sibyl is the algorithm that will predict our future, our health, whether we’ll get a bank loan, whether we’ll live to 80, what our genetics will be. This certainty of an implacable mechanism that determines our outcome is juxtaposed against the desire for a more human connection to our destiny, an instinct to believe in the possibility of something other than the machine to guide us in how we see our future. The work is a profound, jarring, playful, and visually stunning meditation on what it means to be alive in our current moment in history, grappling afresh with humanity’s primordial task of making sense of the inherently tragic state of always knowing, yet never knowing, where our end will lead us; the cursed and blessed consciousness that makes us human. 

The Moment Has Gone begins the program and is a new 22-minute film with live score by Kyle Shepherd combining piano and an all-male South African chorus lead by Nhlanhla Mahlangu. It incorporates City Deep, the latest in Kentridge’s series of Soho Eckstein films, and sequences of Kentridge creating the work. In City Deep, the artist’s unique charcoal animation technique of successive erasure and redrawing conjures a non-linear story featuring his drawn alter ego Soho Eckstein, set between a municipal art museum (based on the Johannesburg Art Gallery) and an abandoned mining area at the edges of the city where unofficial artisanal gold mining takes place. The action jumps: the museum collapses, Soho comes face to face with his fate, whilst a solitary miner persistently works against his destiny. Interspersed throughout are images of the film’s creation, of the artist in his studio—always itself an action (a futile one) against destiny.

UPCOMING DATES

No results

PAST DATES

  • 2019-09-10 00:00:00 2019-09-15 00:00:00 - Teatro Dell'Opera Di Roma (Teatro Costanzi), Roma - Italy

CREDITS

Creative  Team

 

William Kentridge   Concept and Director

Kyle Shepherd Music Director / Composer

Nhlanhla Mahlangu Associate Director / Choral Composer

Greta Goirus Costume Designer

Sabine Theunissen Set Designer

Urs Schönebaum Lighting Design

Žana Marović Projection Design

Stella Olivier Photography

 

Waiting for the Sybil is co-commissioned by Teatro dell'Opera di Roma, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg and Dramaten - Stockholm.